#### MONTANA STATE LIBRARY (MSL) COMMISSION MEETING 9:30 a.m., August 3, 2022 Cooper Room, Missoula Public Library and Zoom

#### MINUTES

Recording can be found at: YouTube: <u>https://youtu.be/vkmnljmJFbQ</u>

Unedited closed captioning is available.

## **ATTENDEES:**

## **Commissioners:**

Chair Kenning Arlitsch (Commissioner of Higher Education Appointee), Tammy Hall, Dalton Johnson, Robyn Scribner, Peggy Taylor

#### Commissioners on Zoom:

Elsie Arntzen (Superintendent of Public Instruction), Kristin Kerr

#### MSL Staff:

Marilyn Bennett, Tracy Cook, Evan Hammer, Pam Henley, Jim Kammerer, Rebekah Kamp, Kenny Ketner, Amelea Kim, Genevieve Lighthiser, Amy Marchwick, Keiley McGregor, Jennie Stapp

#### MSL Staff on Zoom:

Jennifer Birnel, Malissa Briggs, Melanie Carroll, Michael Fashoway, Lee Fossum, Ashley Kanduch, Bryce Maxell, Laura Tretter

## Public:

Kate McMahon (Applied Communications), Bruce Newell (Trust for Montana Libraries), Addie Palin (Hoffman York, Rachel Rawn (Havre-Hill County Library), Sydnie Tallman (Law Library)

#### Public on Zoom:

Denise Ard (North Valley Public Library), Forest Boughner, Katie Burkhalter, Courtney, Elizabeth Fellerer, Amy Hanson, Joey, Anne Kish, Dylan Klapmeier, Jodie Moore, Keith Schubert, Jessica Tabbs

Agenda: Attachment 1

(00:00:20) Call to Order and Introductions at 9:40 am

(00:02:55) Consent agenda - Action

- June 14, 2022 minute log: <u>Attachment 2</u>
- June 15, 2022 minute log: Attachment 3
- July 5, 2022 minute log: <u>Attachment 4</u>
- Montana Memory Project Collection Development Policy: <u>Attachment 5</u>

(00:03:15) Motion by Commissioner Johnson and seconded by Commissioner Taylor to approve the consent agenda and the motion passed unanimously.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(00:03:50) Director's Institute Update-Cook: Attachment 6

(00:21:20) Excellent Library Services Award Resolution-Henley: Attachment 7

- ELSA Memo to Commission: Attachment 8
- Public Comment

(00:22:33) Motion by Commissioner Kerr and seconded by Commissioner Scribner to approve the ELSA Awards Resolution and the motion passed unanimously.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(00:23:15) Network Advisory Council (NAC) report-Stapp, Moore: Attachment 9

(00:26:45) Virtual Programming Policy: Attachment 10

- Marked-up version for reference: Attachment 11
- Public Comment

(00:28:57) Motion by Commissioner Scribner and seconded by Commissioner Johnson to accept the Virtual Programming Policy followed by a motion by Commissioner Hall to amend the motion by adding back the stricken paragraph. Commissioner Scribner and Commissioner Johnson accepted the amendment. The motion passed unanimously.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(00:57:35) Freedom to Read statement: <u>Attachment 12</u>

- Marked-up version for reference: Attachment 13
- Public Comment

(00:1:28:33) Motion by Commissioner Johnson and seconded by Commissioner Taylor to approve the Freedom to Read statement and the motion passed.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-nay
- Tammy Hall-nay
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(01:40:00) Rebrand subcommittee recommendation-Subcommittee: Attachment 22

- Public comments on logo: <u>Attachment 14</u>
- Public Comment

(02:01:20) Motion by Commissioner Hall and seconded by Commissioner Scribner to advance the recommendations of the Rebrand Subcommittee and the motion passed unanimously.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(02:10:15) Digital Equity Act and Montana libraries: Attachment 15

- Digital equity and libraries- Stapp
- Digital Equity Act- Kate McMahon, Applied Communications

(02:44:45) State Library Report- Stapp

• Work Plan Dashboard: <u>Attachment 16</u>

- Montana Shared Catalog Request for Proposal
- Flood and space planning update
- Talking Books services contract update: <u>Attachment 17</u>
- Continuing Education task force
- Federation study task force: <u>Attachment 18</u>
- Partner feedback: <u>Attachment 19</u>
- News to know about: <u>Attachment 20</u>

(02:59:35) Commission Goals and Objectives - Commission

- Calendar Review: <u>Attachment 21</u>
  - Tri-conference Conversation with the Commission conference preparation
  - $\circ$  State Librarian evaluation update
  - Fall Federation meetings attendance

## (03:04:55) Commission Officers Election - Action

# The Commission voted unanimously to accept Dalton Johnson as the new Commission Chair.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

The Commission voted unanimously to accept Peggy Taylor as the new Commission Vice-Chair.

- Kenning Arlitsch-aye
- Elsie Arntzen-aye
- Tammy Hall-aye
- Dalton Johnson-aye
- Kristen Kerr-aye
- Robyn Scribner-aye
- Peggy Taylor-aye

(03:06:50) Public Comment on any matter not contained in this agenda and that is within the jurisdiction of the State Library Commission.

(03:08:22) Meeting adjourned at 1:04 p.m.

## **RECORDING DONE**

Lunch for Commissioners

- 1:15 to 2:15 p.m. Missoula Public Library tour Slaven Lee, Library Director, Karl Olson, MPL Foundation Director
- 2:15 to 4:15 p.m. Commission Continuing Education Dan Clark, Local Government Center, Montana State University